Strong doubles field confirmed for 2019

26 December 2018, by

Former world No.1 Latisha Chan headlines an outstanding Hobart International 2019 doubles field, which also includes Australians Monique Adamczak and Jessica Moore.

Chan, who won nine doubles titles alongside Martina Hingis in 2017 including her first Grand Slam at the US Open, is teaming with younger sister Hao-Ching Chan. The Chan sisters have won 11 WTA titles as a team.

After career-best 2018 seasons, Adamczak and Moore are hoping to become the first all-Australian duo to win the Hobart International doubles title.

Adamczak, a 35-year-old from New South Wales, reached a career-high doubles ranking of No.44 in 2018 and teamed with Moore to win her second WTA doubles title in Guangzhou in September. Moore, a 28-year-old from Western Australia, peaked at a career-best No.67 doubles ranking shortly after.

Romanian Monica Niculescu – a four-time doubles finalist in Hobart and a Wimbledon runner-up in 2016 with Hao-Ching Chan – has entered with China’s world No.26 Yang Zhaoxuan.

Mihaela Buzarnescu and Zhang Shuai, two of the highest-ranked players in the singles field, will also compete in doubles.

> Take a look at the 2019 singles field

Hobart International Tournament Director Darren Sturgess is excited about the high-quality doubles field.

“Among the first 10 teams entered, there are 13 players ranked inside the world’s top 50 in doubles,” Sturgess said.

“There are also four former Hobart International doubles champions in the field – Monica Niculescu, Irina-Camelia Begu, Raluca Olaru and Johanna Larsson. With such high quality, it is our fans who will benefit most as they’ll be able to enjoy exciting, world-class doubles encounters from the opening round.”

Hobart International 2019 doubles teams

Rank   Rank
Latisha Chan (TPE) No.21 Hao-Ching Chan (TPE) No.24
Irina-Camelia Begu (ROU) No.23 Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU) No.25
Yang Zhaoxuan (CHN) No.26 Monica Niculescu (ROU) No.47
Kirsten Flipkens (BEL) No.34 Johanna Larsson (SWE) No.40
Dalila Jakupovic (SLO) No.49 Sabrina Santamaria (USA) No.57
Raluca Olaru (ROU) No.44 Galina Voskoboeva (KAZ) No.63
Darija Jurak (CRO) No.48 Desirae Krawczyk (USA) No.59
Lara Arruabarrena (ESP) No.39 Sara Sorribes Tormo (ESP) No.85
Zhang Shuai (CHN) No.33 Wang Yafan (CHN) No.92
Monique Adamczak (AUS) No.61 Jessica Moore (AUS) No.69

A further six teams, including two wildcard entries, will later be added to the field.

The Hobart International takes place at the Domain Tennis Centre from 5-12 January 2019. Tickets are available through Ticketek. All fans who purchase tickets before January also automatically enter the draw to win two tickets to the Australian Open 2019 men’s singles final.