2018 field: By the numbers

29 November 2017, by hobartinternational.com.au

A strong field will compete at the Hobart International in 2018.

Tournament Director Darren Sturgess announced the direct acceptances today, which includes three former champions aiming to make history as the first repeat winner in the tournament’s 25-year history.

> READ MORE: 2018 line-up revealed

The field includes:

Three former Hobart International singles champions: Elise Mertens (2017), Alize Cornet (2016), Mona Barthel (2012)

Four current top 40 players: Elise Mertens (No.35), Shuai Zhang (No.36), Sorana Cirstea (No.37), Alize Cornet (No.38)

12 players who achieved career-high rankings in 2017: Yulia Putintseva (No.27 in February), Lesia Tsurenko (No.29 in July), Elise Mertens (No.35 in November), Kristyna Pliskova (No.35 in July 2017), Katerina Siniakova (No.36 in April), Alison Riske (No.36 in May), Donna Vekic (No.45 in September), Tatjana Maria (No.46 in November), Shelby Rogers (No.48 in January), Natalia Vikhlyantseva (No.54 in October), Michaela Buzarnescu (No.60 in November), Marketa Vondrousova (No.61 in October)

Nine players who won WTA titles in 2017: Elise Mertens, Shuai Zhang, Lesia Tsurenko, Irina-Camelia Begu, Mona Barthel, Katerina Siniakova, Donna Vekic, Timea Babos, Marketa Vondrousova

Three players who won first WTA titles in 2017: Elise Mertens, Katerina Siniakova, Marketa Vondrousova

Six players making debut in Hobart: Donna Vekic, Natalia Vikhlyantseva, Michaela Buzarnescu, Marketa Vondrousova, Varvara Lepchenko, Anna-Lena Friedsam

> DON’T MISS THE ACTION: Book your tickets now